Distinguished Service Award

Area 5 established the Distinguished Service Award in 2003 as a way to recognize those members who have made significant contributions to handbell ringing in Area 5.

Nominations may be made by any Area 5 member and must meet the requirements below. To nominate an individual for the Distinguished Service Award please contact the Board Chair at chair.area5@handbellmusicians.org. Please provide the individual’s name and a brief write-up of why they are a good candidate for the award.

Recipients must:

  • Be recognized for making outstanding contributions to the art of handbell ringing in Area 5. This should include extended time commitments in activities that greatly exceed normal expectations or are generally perceived as significant.
  • Have performed leadership roles at local, state, and/or Area 5 levels.
  • Not be currently serving on the Area 5 Board of Directors.

Area 5 Distinguished Service Award Recipients


June Hannah

Rena Leatherman

Janet Van Valey


Vonna Cole

Alice Ralston


Martha Avery

Timothy Waugh

2007 Lois Coffey
2009 David Davidson
2011 Donna Kinsey

Jane McFadden

J.R. Smith

2019 Andy Peralta