Distinguished Service Award

Area 5 established a Distinguished Service Award in 2003 as a way to recognize those members who have made significant contributions to handbell ringing in Area 5.

Members of Area 5 nominate individuals, a committee of three reviews the nominations, and the Board approves the candidate(s) to receive the award.

Recipients must:

  • Be an active member of the Handbell Musicians of America.
  • Be recognized for making outstanding contributions to the art of handbell ringing in Area 5. This should include extended time commitments in activities that greatly exceed normal expectations or are generally perceived as significant.
  • Have performed leadership roles at local, state, and/or Area 5 levels.
  • Not be currently serving on the Area 5 Board of Directors.

Area 5 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2003 Rena Leatherman, June Hannah, Janet Van Valey
2004 Vonna Cole, Alice Ralston
2005 Martha Avery, Tim Waugh
2007 Lois Coffey
2009 David Davidson
2011 Donna Kinsey
2013 Jane McFadden, JR Smith
2019 Andy Peralta

Comments are closed.